Privacy Settings

You can hide your location details from other Howl users, and prevent users from inviting you to packs and adding you to direct messages. Disabling these options will significantly limit your Howl experience.

How does the "Allow invitations" setting work?

The "Allow invitations" setting gives you the option to be 😇 invited to private or public packs. If you don't want to receive any invitations, you can turn this setting off. You can still join any pack by selecting the share link you receive. 

I don't want other people to invite me to Packs. Is there a way I can turn this off? 

Yes, but if you are an Administrator of any pack, you are 🐺 required to be invited to packs. The toggle will be enabled and 🙈 you will not be able to disable it. We are working on providing a new 🆕 feature that will revert this requirement in the future!

  1. Log in to the 📱 app
  2. Select the 👤 Profile button on the bottom navigation bar
  3. Select the ⚙️ Settings button
  4. Scroll ⬇️ down to the bottom of the screen
  5. Select the on/off toggle next to "Allow invitations"

I don't want other people to add me to Direct Messages. Is there a way I can turn this off? 

Yes, following the below steps will hide you from the list of users to choose from when another user is creating a new direct message or adding to an existing one. However, you will remain in your current direct message groups but may choose to leave at any time!

  1. Log in to the 📱 app
  2. Select the 👤 Profile button on the bottom navigation bar
  3. Select the ⚙️ Settings button
  4. Scroll ⬇️ down to the bottom of the screen
  5. Select the on/off toggle next to "Allow direct messages"

Is there a way to hide my town & zip-code?

We do not recommend this as to experience the full value of Howl is to keep this information 👀 visible to Howl users. Your verified🏡 home address is never shared with other Howl users.

👍 Yes, following the below steps will hide the town and zip-code from your profile and the Howl Directory from other Howl users.  If you are in your street pack, members of this pack have access to the list of pack members and can see you within that pack. Steps to join and leave community packs are located here: Community Packs

  1. Log in to the 📱 app
  2. Select the 👤 Profile button on the bottom navigation bar
  3. Select the ⚙️ Settings button
  4. Scroll ⬇️ down to the bottom of the screen
  5. Select the on/off toggle next to "Town and zip code"